108 divine Names of Shri Ganesha with meaning

Jun 03 2021 0 Comments Tags: Ganesha

Shri Ganapathi, also described as Ganesha, is a very popular and revered Hindu deity and perphaps the most worshipped God in India. People mostly worship him seeking success in endeavors(siddhi) and intelligence. (buddhi). He also symbolizes wealth, wisdom, and happiness. He is worshipped before any venture or journey is embarked upon. Lord Ganapathi, having a curled trunk, one tusk partly broken, large ears, a massive body, four arms, and the radiance of hundreds of suns, elimintates all obstacles that impede success.

Lord Ganapathi is the elder son of Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati, the universe’s divine couple. He is the chief of Lord Shiva’s army and attendants, hence the name Ganesha. In the name Ganapathi, Ga denotes “knowledge,” na means “salvation,” and pati means “lord.” He is known for removing all of the obstacles (vignas) in the path of progress and well being of his devotees, therefore he is known as Vigneshwara. Due to this special power of Lord Vigneshwara, devotees lovingly shower him with prayers, sweets, and pujas at the commencement of every task and enterprise, thus becoming capable of completing the task without hardship or complexity. Below given are 108 divine names of Shri Ganesha along with their meanings. 

108 names of ganesha

  1. Akhuratha : one who has mouse as his charioteer
  2. Alampata : Ever Eternal Lord
  3. Amit : Incomparable Lord
  4. Anantachidrupamayam : Infinite and Consciousness Personified
  5. Avaneesh : Lord of the whole World
  6. Avighna : Remover of Obstacles
  7. Balaganapati : Beloved and Lovable Child
  8. Bhalchandra : Moon-Crested Lord
  9. Bheema : Huge and Gigantic
  10. Bhupati : Lord of the Gods
  11. Bhuvanpati : God of the Gods
  12. Buddhinath : God of Wisdom
  13. Buddhipriya : Knowledge Bestower
  14. Buddhividhata : God of Knowledge
  15. Chaturbhuj : One who has Four Arms
  16. Devadeva : Lord! of All Lords
  17. Devantakanashakarin : Destroyer of Evils and Asuras
  18. Devavrata : One who accepts all Penances
  19. Devendrashika : Protector of All Gods
  20. Dharmik : One who gives Charity
  21. Dhoomravarna :Smoke-Hued Lord
  22. Durja : Invincible Lord
  23. Dvaimatura : One who has two Mothers
  24. Ekaakshara : He of the Single Syllable
  25. Ekadanta : Single-Tusked Lord
  26. Ekadrishta : Single-Tusked Lord
  27. Eshanputra : Lord Shiva’s Son
  28. Gadadhara : One who has The Mace as His Weapon
  29. Gajakarna : One who has Eyes like an Elephant
  30. Gajanana : Elephant-Faced Lord
  31. Gajananeti : Elephant-Faced Lord
  32. Gajavakra : Trunk of The Elephant
  33. Gajavaktra : One who has Mouth like an Elephant
  34. Ganadhakshya : Lord of All Ganas (Gods)
  35. Ganadhyakshina : Leader of All The Celestial Bodies
  36. Ganapati : Lord of All Ganas (Gods)
  37. Gaurisuta : The Son of Gauri (Parvati)
  38. Gunina : One who is The Master of All Virtues
  39. Haridra : One who is Golden Coloured
  40. Heramba : Mother’s Beloved Son
  41. Kapila : Yellowish-Brown Coloured
  42. Kaveesha : Master of Poets
  43. Krti : Lord of Music
  44. Kripalu : Merciful Lord
  45. Krishapingaksha : Yellowish-Brown Eyed
  46. Kshamakaram : The Place of Forgiveness
  47. Kshipra : One who is easy to Appease
  48. Lambakarna : Large-Eared Lord
  49. Lambodara : The Huge Bellied Lord
  50. Mahabala : Enormously Strong Lord
  51. Mahaganapati : Omnipotent and Supreme Lord
  52. Maheshwaram : Lord of The Universe
  53. Mangalamurti : All Auspicious Lord
  54. Manomay : Winner of Hearts
  55. Mrityuanjaya : Conqueror of Death
  56. Mundakarama : Abode of Happiness
  57. Muktidaya : Bestower of Eternal Bliss
  58. Musikvahana : One who has Mouse as His Charioteer
  59. Nadapratithishta :One who Appreciates and Loves Music
  60. Namasthetu : Vanquisher of All Evils and Vices and Sins
  61. Nandana : Lord Shiva’s Son
  62. Nideeshwaram : Giver of Wealth and Treasures
  63. Omkara :One who has the Form Of OM
  64. Pitambara :One who has Yellow-Coloured Body
  65. Pramoda :Lord of All Abodes
  66. Prathameshwara :First Among All
  67. Purush : The Omnipotent Personality
  68. Rakta : One who has Red-Coloured Body
  69. Rudrapriya :Beloved Of Lord Shiva
  70. Sarvadevatman :Acceptor of All Celestial Offerings
  71. Sarvasiddhanta : Bestower of Skills and Wisdom
  72. Sarvatman :Protector of The Universe
  73. Shambhavi : The Son of Parvati
  74. Shashivarnam : One who has a Moon like Complexion
  75. Shoorpakarna :Large-Eared Lord
  76. Shuban :All Auspicious Lord
  77. Shubhagunakanan : One who is The Master of All Virtues
  78. Shweta : One who is as Pure as the White Colour
  79. Siddhidhata : Bestower of Success and Accomplishments
  80. Siddhipriya : Bestower of Wishes and Boons
  81. Siddhivinayaka : Bestower of Success
  82. Skandapurvaja : Elder Brother of Skand (Lord Kartik)
  83. Sumukha : Auspicious Face
  84. Sureshwaram :Lord of All Lords
  85. Swaroop : Lover of Beauty
  86. Tarun : Ageless
  87. Uddanda : Nemesis of Evils and Vices
  88. Umaputra : The Son of Goddess Uma (Parvati)
  89. Vakratunda : Curved Trunk Lord
  90. Varaganapati : Bestower of Boons
  91. Varaprada : Granter of Wishes and Boons
  92. Varadavinayaka : Bestower of Success
  93. Veeraganapati : Heroic Lord
  94. Vidyavaridhi : God of Wisdom
  95. Vighnahara : Remover of Obstacles
  96. Vignaharta : Demolisher of Obstacles
  97. Vighnaraja : Lord of All Hindrances
  98. Vighnarajendra : Lord of All Obstacles
  99. Vighnavinashanaya : Destroyer of All Obstacles and Impediments
  100. Vigneshwara: Lord of All Obstacles
  101. Vikat : Huge and Gigantic
  102. Vinayaka : Lord of All
  103. Vishwamukha : Master of The Universe
  104. Vishwaraja : King of The World
  105. Yagnakaya : Acceptor of All Sacred and Sacrificial Offerings
  106. Yashaskaram :Bestower of Fame and Fortune
  107. Yashvasin : Beloved and Ever Popular Lord
  108. Yogadhipa : The Lord of Meditation

Related Posts

  • Shri Kedarnath Jyotirlinga
    Shri Kedarnath Jyotirlinga

    Shri Kedarnath is one of the best known Shivasthalams in India and is considered to be one of the most sacred pilgrim...

  • Shri Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga
    Shri Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga

    Shri Bhimashankar in Maharashtra is an ancient shrine, enshrining Bhimashankara one of the 12 Jyotirlingas of Shiva. ...

  • Shri Tryambakeshwar Jyotirlinga
    Shri Tryambakeshwar Jyotirlinga

    A 28 km (18 mile) journey from pilgrim town Nashik takes a tourist to Trimbakeshwar, 10th sacred Jyotirlinga in the D...

  • Shri Grishneshwar Jyotirlinga
    Shri Grishneshwar Jyotirlinga

    Grishneshwar Jyotirlinga is one of the 12 Jyotirlinga shrines mentioned in the Shiva Purana (kotirudra sahinta, Ch.32...

← Older Posts Newer Posts →


Leave a Comment

Please note: comments must be approved before they are published

To add this product to your wish list you must

Sign In or Create an Account

Back to the top