108 Divya Desams

Nov 27 2016 Tags: Divya Desam, Pilgrimage, Temples, Vishnu

108 Divya Desams are Vishnu temples that are mentioned [Mangalasasanam – Praising the glory of the lord] in the works of the Alvars. Divya Desams means a divine place. It is the term given to 108 temples of Lord Vishnu all over India and a few temples outside it. The mentioning of 108 Divya Desams is done in ancient Tamil writings by Tamil saints.Only 106 of these temples are in this material world. The other two being Paramapadam (at the feet of Lord Vishnu) and Vaikuntam (Lord Vishnu’s Holy abode). One of the remaining 106 (Salagrama) is in Nepal and the rest are in India spread all over across the sub continent. Most of these have been visited by the Alwars. However, few are only sung and praised by them. Every vaishnavite considers it as his utmost duty to undertake a pilgrimage to each of these 106 divyadesams. It is considered that Azhvars are amsams of Lord Sri Vishnu and they were sent to the earth to establish and spread bhakthi marga. They had spent their conscious time in constant chanting of the Lord and absolute in the knowledge that the Lord will grant them Moksha. They are considered superior to the Rishis because unlike the Rishis (who spent their times in forests in performing yagas, etc., to attain Lotus Feet of the Lord), Azhvars spent their time among ordinary mortals and showed that even an ordinary person can follow the path towards Moksha through their pasurams. 

The Divya Desams are revered by the 12 Azhvars in the Divya Prabandha, a collection of 4,000 Tamil verses.The Alvars during the early medieval period of Tamil history (between the 7th and 10th centuries CE) worshipped Vishnu and his avatars through their hymns. This collection of their hymns is known as Divya Prabhandham.

Mangalasasanam means "praying that the holy shrines be happy all the time".

The Srivaishnava shrines that were sung about by the Alvars are called Divya Desams. The divyadesams that have the most number of pasurams sung upon them are Srirangam (247), Thirumala (202), Thirumaliruncholai and Thirukannapuram (128 each). 

108 Divya desam

List of 108 Divya desams

Elsewhere in India:

  1. Ahobilam – Andhra Pradesh
  2. Muktinath – Saligramam Nepal
  3. Naimisaranya – Uttar Pradesh
  4. Mathura – Uttar Pradesh
  5. Gokul – Uttar Pradesh
  6. Devprayag – Uttarakhand
  7. Thiruppirithi – Uttarakhand
  8. Badrinath temple – Uttarakhand
  9. Ayodhya – Uttar Pradesh
  10. Dwarka – Gujarat

In Malai Nadu or Kerala State:

  1. Thiruvananthapuram
  2. Thirukatkarai
  3. Moozhikkalam
  4. Tiruvalla
  5. Thirukadithanam
  6. Sengunroor
  7. Thiruppuliyoor
  8. Thiruvaaranvilai
  9. Thiruvanvandoor
  10. Thiru naavaay
  11. Viththuvakkodu

In Madurai of Tamil Nadu State:

  1. Thirumeyyam
  2. Thirukoshtiyur
  3. Koodal Azhagar Temple
  4. Azhagar Kovil
  5. Tirumogoor
  6. Srivilliputhur
  7. Tiruththangal
  8. Thiruppullani

In Kanchipuram of Tamil Nadu State:

  1. Thiruvengadam
  2. Tirukkacchi
  3. Ashtabujakaram
  4. Tiruvekkaa
  5. Tiruththanka
  6. Tiruvelukkai
  7. Tirukalvanoor(inside Kamakshi Amman Temple)
  8. Tiru oorakam
  9. Tiru neeragam
  10. Tiru kaaragam
  11. Tirukaarvaanam
  12. Tiru parameswara vinnagaram
  13. Tiru pavala vannam
  14. Tiru paadagam
  15. Tiru nilaaththingal thundam (inside Ekambareswarar Temple)
  16. Thiruputkuzhi

In Chennai of Tamil Nadu:

  1. Thiruvallikeni
  2. Thiruneermalai
  3. Thiruvidandai
  4. Thirukadalmallai
  5. Thiruninravur
  6. Thiruvallur
  7. Thirukkadigai

Mayiladuthurai and Sirkazhi of Tamil Nadu State:

  1. Thiruvazhunthoor
  2. Thiruindaloor
  3. Kazheesirama Vinnagaram
  4. Thirukkavalampadi
  5. Thiruchsemponsey
  6. Thiruarimeya Vinnagaram
  7. Thiru Vanpurushothamam
  8. Thiruvaikunda vinnagaram
  9. Thirumanimadam
  10. Thiruthevanartthogai
  11. Thiruthetriyambalam
  12. Thirumanikkoodam
  13. Thiruvellakkulam
  14. Thiruppaarththanpalli
  15. Thalai Sanga Nanmathiyam
  16. Thiruchsirupuliyoor
  17. Thiruvali-Thirunagari

Tanjavur of Tamil Nadu State:

  1. Thiruccithra kootam
  2. Thirukkannangudi
  3. Thirunagai
  4. Thiru Thanjai
  5. Tirukkoilur
  6. Thirukkoodaloor
  7. Thiru Kavith Thalam
  8. Thiru Adhanoor
  9. Thirupullabhoothangudi
  10. Thirukkudandhai
  11. Thiruccherai or Thirucherai
  12. Thirunandipura Vinnagaram
  13. ThiruNaraiyoor
  14. Thiruvinnagar
  15. Thiruvelliyangudi
  16. Thirukkanamangai
  17. Thirukkkannapuram
  18. Thirukkandiyur

In Trichy of Tamil Nadu:

  1. Sri Rangam
  2. Thirukkozhi
  3. Thirukkarambanoor
  4. Thiruvellarai
  5. Thiru Anbil
  6. Thirupper Nagar
  7. Thiruvanthipuram

In Tirunelveli of Tamil Nadu:

  1. Thiruvaramangai
  2. Thirukkurungudi
  3. Srivaikundam
  4. Thiruvaragunamangai
  5. Thiruppulingudi
  6. Thirukkurugoor(Azhwar Tirunagari)
  7. Thirutthulaivillimangalam(Irattai Tirupathy)
  8. Thirukkoloor
  9. Thirukkulandhai
  10. Thentirupperai

In Kanya Kumari of Tamil Nadu:

  1. Thiruvattaru
  2. Thiruvanparisaram

Outside the Earth:

  1. Thirupaarkadal
  2. Thiruparamapadham

Related Posts

← Older Posts Newer Posts →

Download our mobile app today !

To add this product to your wish list you must

Sign In or Create an Account

Back to the top
Global Shipping We deliver all around Globe
Easy Returns No questions asked 7 days return policy
Secure Checkout 100% Secure Payment Gateway
Paypal Accepted Pay for your orders through Paypal